Another Day in the Comedy Life: Another Friday Night @ Take 5

Friday night at Take 5 I was at it again. I performed with a great group of people. I hosted and warmed up the crowd and was followed by Nathaniel Hyman, Sarah Shofety, Chris Sicoli, Steve Schwarz, and Kurt Zimmerman. We had a great crowd there to support us and have a good time. I got brave and put some un-tested material out there. Overall I got some decent laughs, so I think I did pretty well, but by all means you be the judge by viewing my set here. I like to give options, so I also made a playlist of all my new stuff that you can view here.

People have asked me if I get bored performing at the same place month after month and my honest answer is yes. Sometimes, it does get a bit tedious going to the same place every month but all in all I’m thankful for any minutes I can get anywhere I can get them. Hell I’ll come out to your kid’s birthday party and do my act although I don’t know that you and the other parents will be entirely happy with my material.

The truth is I’d love to get into other places and even feature and I dare to hope headline instead of being an opening act. I’d even love to make some money doing stand-up but I’m still very truthfully happy any time I got a mic in my hand and people are laughing. Sure I get a little frustrated with myself when I feel like I’m not good enough. I even come down on myself and become convinced that I’ll never be good enough. I think we all do that from time to time and not just in comedy but in life as well. But, no matter how impatient I may get sometimes; I’m still finding myself enjoying the trip a lot more.

I may want to spread my comedy wings, but Take 5 will always be home to me and that’s where I will always come to roost. As long as there’s a place for me there every second Friday of the month, that’s where I’ll be. The crowds are great, the owner and his family are the nicest people you could ever want to meet, and I’ve met some amazing people. I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Leave a Reply

