The War on Nerds Continues: Game of Thrones Season 7 Release Date & Logan

Every war is made up of battles. The thing about battles is that you win some and you lose some. This rule applies to the War on Nerds. In the past few weeks, we’ve won a battle and we’ve lost a battle.

George RR Martin missed his deadline to publish The Winds of Winter early this year. HBO is rubbing salt into that wound by setting the premiere date for Season 7 of Game of Thrones for July 16th instead of the usual April premiere. The season will also be shorter, featuring only seven episodes instead of the eight we’ve grown accustomed to. Just to be clear, we’re waiting three months longer for a season with fewer episodes.

CS 67 26th October 2010
George RR Martin: sick and brilliant man

I’m all for making sure that we get quality television, but COME ON! If I put George RR Martin in charge of writing my grocery list I’d freakin’ starve to death! I honestly think making us wait is part of his sick genius. It goes hand in hand with killing off our favorite characters. That brilliant, dastardly man!

Okay now that we have that out of the way, let’s get to the battle we won and that friends, is Logan. If you haven’t seen it yet, stop reading now and come on back after you do.

When I first heard it would partly be based off of the Old Man Logan series I was skeptical. Then I saw the trailer which included X-23 (now known in the comics as All New Wolverine) one of my all-time favorite X-Men. That raised the stakes for me. If they didn’t get this film right, I was going to go into full Berserker rage the likes of which have not been seen or felt since X3: The Last Stand. I’m pleased to say that I was not disappointed.

It was damned entertaining. The production design and the settings had a very Western feel to them and it had a level of grit that we haven’t seen in any previous X-Men movies. It had F bombs and they even finally got Berserker rage right!

FullSizeRender-32
If you’re a comic book villain, this may just be the last thing you ever see

They made me nervous with X-23. I didn’t see her foot claws come out until halfway through the movie and let me tell you I breathed a sigh of relief. Her foot claws are a part of what makes her so uniquely badass, so leaving them out would’ve taken me right out of the film on principle alone. Dammit, the character has foot claws in the comics, so she should have them in the movie! It’s not rocket science! It also makes her as effective if not more effective than Wolverine in my opinion. Wolverine’s fighting style is very straight-forward: offensive strikes (and/or slashes) with little to no emphasis on defense. X-23 on the other hand can use more refined attacks and her defensive game is stronger than his by virtue of her foot claws.

IMG_2092
X-23, aka Laura, aka All New Wolverine, aka my homegirl

Now, about her origin story. They got it mostly right. She was created by Weapon X in a lab, but they didn’t talk about why she was a female clone or whose DNA they used with Wolverine’s to create her. For the record, it was because the Y chromosome from Wolverine’s DNA sample was damaged and therefore unable to supply them with a viable male clone of Wolverine. The female scientist who was working on the project was forced to donate her DNA in the form of an X chromosome and also carry and give birth to her. In any case, I say “Meh, close enough.” I’ll take it. I wasn’t really into the creation of a new male clone of Wolverine. It wasn’t really true to the comics and it felt like a cheap, contrived plot device. However that is my only complaint. Otherwise, Logan is a solid film.

I think we have some pretty good things on the horizon, fellow nerds. Even though it will be later and shorter, there is the new season of Game of Thrones and I’m sure The Winds of Winter will be published…eventually. We also finally have a Wolverine movie that actually gets it mostly right. It also opens the door for X-23 to get her own movie and to an entire new series of New X-Men movies featuring the next generation of young mutants. We’ve got some good stuff coming, so fight the good fight, follow nerds!

Leave a Reply

